NOCO Boost GB40 Jump Starter vs DEWALT: 1000A vs 1600A

noco boost gb40 jump starter: a compact black lithium jump starter pack with clamps beside a large yellow-and-black power station on a garage workbench, a car bonnet open behind

NOCO Boost GB40 Jump Starter vs DEWALT Jump Starters: Pocket Lithium or Garage Power Station?

The noco boost gb40 jump starter and DEWALT’s jump starters solve the same dead-battery problem from opposite ends. The GB40 is a pocket-sized lithium pack — 1000 peak amps, a power bank, and a flashlight — that lives in a glove box. DEWALT’s jump starters are power stations: the DXAEJ14 gives you 1600 peak amps with a 120 PSI air compressor and USB power in one garage-ready box, and the DXAELJ18C squeezes 1800 peak amps into a lithium pack. The NOCO wins on size and simplicity; the DEWALT wins on power and extras. Which one fits depends on what you drive, and on whether you want a tool that only jumps or one that inflates tires too.

The short answer: buy the noco boost gb40 jump starter if you want a pocket-sized tool that does the jump job on its own. Buy the DEWALT DXAEJ14 if you want jump starting plus a tire compressor and USB power in one box. Buy the DEWALT DXAELJ18C if you want DEWALT’s pocket lithium pack: more peak amps than the GB40, still small enough for under a seat. If your engine is a large diesel, check the engine-size ratings below before you buy.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Quick Pick: NOCO Boost GB40 Jump Starter vs DEWALT Jump Starters

PickProductBest ForCheck Price
Overall WinnerNOCO Boost GB40: 1000A UltraSafe Jump StarterPocket lithium jump starting with a power bank and flashlight in a glove-box unitCheck Price on Amazon
Best Garage Power StationDEWALT DXAEJ14 Digital Portable Power Station Jump Starter, 1600 Peak Amps, 120 PSI CompressorJump starting, tire inflation and USB power in one garage-ready boxCheck Price on Amazon
Best Pocket DEWALTDEWALT DXAELJ18C 1800 Peak Amp Lithium Jump Starter with USB Power Bank and Carrying CaseDEWALT pocket lithium: 1800 peak amps, no compressor to carryCheck Price on Amazon

What Each Jump Starter Is

The noco boost gb40 jump starter in this comparison is the NOCO Boost GB40, model GB40: a 1000-amp lithium jump starter for 12-volt batteries, rated for gasoline engines up to 6.0 litres and diesel engines up to 3.0 litres, with up to 20 jump starts on a single charge per the listing. It doubles as a portable power bank and carries an integrated 100-lumen LED flashlight with seven light modes, including SOS and strobe. In the box are the GB40, heavy-duty clamps, a USB-C charging cable, and a microfiber storage bag, backed by a 1-year warranty. Our NOCO Boost GB40 vs OXILAM portable jump starter comparison weighs it against a 6000-amp rival instead.

The DEWALT side is a family, not one tool. The DXAEJ14 is a digital portable power station: 1600 peak amps with a 120 PSI digital air compressor with automatic shut-off, 15W USB-A and 25W USB-C power, built around a sealed lead-acid battery, and made by Baccus Global LLC under the DEWALT brand per the Amazon listing. The DXAELJ18C is DEWALT’s pocket lithium answer: 1800 peak amps in a lithium-ion pack with a USB power bank and a carrying case, and no compressor. Our DEWALT jump starter review covers all three DEWALT models on their own in full depth, including the 2000-amp DXAEPS14 named below.

NOCO Boost GB40: The Pocket Lithium Pack

The noco boost gb40 jump starter is the smallest tool in this comparison by the dimensions stated here, and that is the whole point of it. The listing gives its dimensions as 4.61 by 8.19 by 4.21 inches and its weight as 2.4 pounds with clamps and accessories — the NOCO datasheet gives the bare unit as 1.65 pounds — a form factor the listing describes as perfectly sized for glove boxes and emergency kits. The internal battery is 2150 mAh, and the listing says a full charge delivers up to 20 jump starts. It recharges over USB-C in about 3 hours at a 2-amp charger per the listing — 6 hours at 1 amp, 12 hours at 0.5 amp, per the NOCO datasheet — and it works as a power bank with a 2.1-amp USB-A output for phones and tablets.

Safety is the noco boost gb40 jump starter’s other selling point. The listing describes it as spark-proof with reverse-polarity protection, and the UltraSafe name is NOCO’s label for that protection set. The 100-lumen LED flashlight with seven modes is the roadside extra: light for a night jump, SOS and strobe for visibility. One honest flag: a manual mirror lists the item weight as 7.94 ounces, which conflicts with both the listing and the NOCO datasheet and is not credible — the datasheet gives 1.65 pounds for the bare unit and 2.4 pounds with clamps and accessories, and this article follows the datasheet. The GB40 (1.65 pounds bare unit) and the DXAEJ14 (17.3 pounds) both have verified weights in the sources checked; the DXAELJ18C weight is not stated, so no lightest-pack claim is made here. The GB40 has no air compressor and no AC inverter, so beyond jumping, charging phones and its flashlight, it does nothing else.

noco boost gb40 jump starter: a compact black and grey lithium jump starter pack with heavy-duty clamps beside it on a car bonnet at dusk

NOCO Boost GB40: 1000A UltraSafe Jump Starter on Amazon: 1000 peak amps, up to 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel, 2150 mAh, USB-C recharge, 100-lumen LED flashlight, 1-year warranty.

DEWALT DXAEJ14: The Garage Power Station

The DXAEJ14 is the default DEWALT buy in this comparison: a digital portable power station with 1600 peak amps, a 120 PSI digital air compressor with automatic shut-off, and 15W USB-A plus 25W USB-C power, all in a rugged yellow-and-black case. The listing describes 1600 peak amps of starting power for most 4, 6, and 8-cylinder cars and trucks, and the compressor sets a target pressure on the display and stops by itself at the set pressure — the SureFit nozzle covers tires, sports equipment, and bikes. It recharges through a built-in AC charging cube.

One listing trap belongs in this section, because it decides which DXAEJ14 you receive. The model has been sold in more than one version: the older DXAEJ14 listing is rated at 1400 peak amps with 700 instant amps, while the current DXAEJ14 Type3 listing is rated at 1600 peak amps. The model number alone does not tell you which one you are buying, so check that the listing title says 1600 amps and Type3 before you order — and confirm the same figures on the box when it arrives. The ASIN in this article is the Type3 listing. Unlike DEWALT’s tool-only tire inflator, the DXAEJ14 is self-contained: its sealed lead-acid battery is built in, and no separate battery purchase is needed.

DEWALT DXAEJ14 Digital Portable Power Station Jump Starter on Amazon: 1600 peak amps, 120 PSI digital air compressor with automatic shut-off, 15W USB-A and 25W USB-C power, Type3 listing.

DEWALT DXAELJ18C: The Pocket Lithium DEWALT

The DXAELJ18C is DEWALT’s answer to the GB40, and on peak amps it beats it: 1800 peak amps of starting power in a lithium-ion pack, rated for most 4, 6, and 8-cylinder cars and trucks, with a 3.7 Ah lithium-ion battery, USB-C and USB-A charging, an LED light, and a carrying case in the box. It is a portable power bank as well as a jump starter, in a small take-along size made to live in a glovebox or under a seat rather than on a garage shelf.

The trade against the DXAEJ14 is the compressor: the DXAELJ18C has none, so buying it means carrying a separate inflator if you want one. The trade against the GB40 is size and simplicity: the DXAELJ18C is still a pocket pack, but it is DEWALT’s pocket pack, with more peak amps and a case, and no seven-mode flashlight to match the GB40’s — it has an integrated LED area light instead. If you already own DEWALT tools, the yellow-and-black case fits the garage; if you own nothing with a DEWALT badge, the brand on the case buys you nothing.

DEWALT DXAELJ18C 1800 Peak Amp Lithium Jump Starter on Amazon: 1800 peak amps, 3.7 Ah lithium-ion battery, USB power bank, LED light, carrying case.

NOCO GB40 vs DEWALT Jump Starters Compared

The table is the comparison in one place. The headline numbers favour DEWALT — 1600 and 1800 peak amps against the GB40’s 1000 — but the table shows what those amps cost: the GB40 is the only pack here with a 100-lumen seven-mode flashlight, and the DXAEJ14 is the only tool here with a compressor. Read the rows, not just the first one.

SpecNOCO Boost GB40 Jump StarterDEWALT DXAEJ14DEWALT DXAELJ18C
Peak amps10001600 (Type3 listing)1800
Engine rating per listingUp to 6.0L gas, up to 3.0L dieselMost 4, 6, and 8-cylinder cars and trucksMost 4, 6, and 8-cylinder cars and trucks
Battery typeLithium, 2150 mAhSealed lead-acid, built inLithium-ion, 3.7 Ah
Jump starts per chargeUp to 20, per the listingNot stated in the sources checkedNot stated in the sources checked
Air compressorNone120 PSI digital, automatic shut-offNone
USB power2.1A USB-A output; USB-C recharge in about 3 hours15W USB-A and 25W USB-C30W USB-C PD in and out; 15W USB-A; USB power bank
Flashlight100-lumen LED, 7 modes incl. SOS and strobeLED work lightIntegrated LED flashlight / area light
Size and weight4.61 x 8.19 x 4.21 in; 1.65 lb bare unit, 2.4 lb with clamps and accessories6 x 11.75 x 13 in; 17.3 lbPocket-sized lithium pack; weight not stated in the sources checked
In the boxGB40, heavy-duty clamps, USB-C cable, microfiber bag, user guideJump starter, powder-coated metal battery clampsJump starter, case, smart jumper cables, USB-C cable, 30W charger
Warranty1-year warranty, per the listing1-year manufacturer warranty, per the listingNot stated in the sources checked

Peak Amps and Engine Size: 1000 vs 1600 vs 1800

Peak amps are the headline number on every jump starter box, and they are the least useful number on their own. The noco boost gb40 jump starter’s 1000 peak amps are rated for gasoline engines up to 6.0 litres and diesel engines up to 3.0 litres — that covers most family cars, SUVs, and light trucks. The DXAEJ14’s 1600 peak amps and the DXAELJ18C’s 1800 peak amps are both described as starting most 4, 6, and 8-cylinder cars and trucks. For an ordinary petrol car, all three have amps to spare; the extra amps matter for bigger engines, cold mornings, and batteries that are fully flat rather than merely weak.

Two warnings belong here. First, the DXAEJ14’s older 1400-amp version is still the trap described above: 1400 peak amps with 700 instant amps is a different listing from the current 1600-amp Type3, so check the title before you order. Second, if your engine is a diesel larger than 3.0 litres, the GB40 is rated below it — the DEWALT DXAEPS14, the 2000-amp power station with a 500W AC inverter and the same 120 PSI compressor, is the bigger DEWALT in the family, and our DEWALT jump starter review covers it. Peak amps do not jump a car on their own: the clamps, the cable, and the charge in the pack matter just as much, and a pack left flat in a glove box jumps nothing.

Battery Type: Lithium vs Sealed Lead-Acid

Battery type is the real split in this comparison, and it decides where each tool lives. The noco boost gb40 jump starter and the DXAELJ18C are lithium packs: small, light, and made to be carried in the car at all times. The DXAEJ14 is a sealed lead-acid power station: bigger, heavier, and made to sit on a garage shelf or in a trunk, with clamps, a compressor, and USB ports built into the same box. Lithium wins on portability; sealed lead-acid wins on being a garage tool that does three jobs at once.

Recharging splits the same way. The GB40 recharges over USB-C in about 3 hours at a 2-amp charger per the listing, from any USB charger — slower on a weaker charger. The DXAELJ18C charges over USB-C and USB-A. The DXAEJ14 recharges through its built-in AC charging cube from a wall outlet. All three are self-contained — no separate battery purchase is needed for any of them, which is the opposite of DEWALT’s tool-only tire inflator, where the battery is sold separately. The maintenance question is the same for all three: a jump starter only works if it is charged, so check the charge regularly and top it up after every use.

Size, Weight and Where It Lives

The noco boost gb40 jump starter is a glove-box tool. The listing gives its dimensions as 4.61 by 8.19 by 4.21 inches and its weight as 2.4 pounds with clamps and accessories (1.65 pounds for the bare unit, per the NOCO datasheet), and it comes with a microfiber storage bag. That is the size that decides the purchase for a driver who wants a jump starter in the car at all times: it fits where a power station does not, and it is light enough to carry to another car. The DXAELJ18C is the same idea in DEWALT form: a pocket-sized lithium pack with a carrying case, made to live in a glovebox or under a seat.

The DXAEJ14 is a garage tool in size as well as in looks. It is a sealed lead-acid power station in a rugged yellow-and-black case, and it belongs in the garage or the trunk, not in a glove box or a jacket pocket. That size buys the compressor, the USB power, and the 1600 peak amps. Where it lives is the decision in miniature: the GB40 lives in the car, the DXAELJ18C lives in the car too, and the DXAEJ14 lives in the garage until it is needed.

noco boost gb40 jump starter: a large yellow-and-black garage power station with jumper cables and an air hose beside a compact lithium jump starter pack on a workbench

Extras: Compressor, Inverter, Flashlight and USB Power

Extras are where the DEWALT power stations pull away from the GB40 — and where the GB40 answers back. The DXAEJ14’s 120 PSI digital compressor with automatic shut-off is the single most useful extra in this comparison: set the pressure, connect the hose, and it stops by itself. The DXAEPS14 adds a 500W AC inverter on top of the same compressor, for mains power at the roadside. The DXAELJ18C has no compressor and no inverter, but it has a USB power bank and a carrying case.

The noco boost gb40 jump starter’s extras are smaller and more roadside-shaped: a 100-lumen LED flashlight with seven modes, including SOS and strobe, and a 2.1-amp USB-A power-bank output. The DXAEJ14’s USB power is stronger on paper — 15W USB-A and 25W USB-C — and it has an LED work light, but not the GB40’s 100-lumen seven-mode flashlight. If your household inflates tires at the roadside, the DXAEJ14’s compressor is the reason to buy it. If you jump cars at night, the GB40’s flashlight is the reason to buy it. Neither extra replaces the other.

Who Should Buy Which Jump Starter

Buy the noco boost gb40 jump starter if: you want a pocket-sized tool that does the jump job on its own; you want it in the glove box all the time; you want a flashlight and a phone charger built in; or your engine is a petrol up to 6.0 litres or a diesel up to 3.0 litres.

Buy the DEWALT DXAEJ14 if: you want jump starting plus a tire compressor and USB power in one garage box; you drive a larger petrol or an 8-cylinder truck; or you want the tool that does three roadside jobs at once. Check the listing says 1600 amps and Type3 before you order.

Buy the DEWALT DXAELJ18C if: you want DEWALT’s pocket lithium pack — 1800 peak amps, a case, and a USB power bank — and you are happy to carry a separate inflator. Buy none of the three if: you need the biggest DEWALT in the family — our best portable car jump starter roundup covers the wider field, including the 2000-amp DXAEPS14.

noco boost gb40 jump starter: an open car boot at dusk with a compact jump starter pack, jumper cables and a torch arranged inside

The Verdict

The noco boost gb40 jump starter wins this comparison for the driver who wants a jump starter in the car at all times. It is the smallest tool here by the dimensions stated in this comparison, with the only 100-lumen seven-mode flashlight, and it is complete in the box — clamps, USB-C cable, and bag — with up to 20 jump starts per charge on engines up to 6.0 litres of petrol or 3.0 litres of diesel. The DEWALT DXAEJ14 wins for a different buyer: the driver who wants a garage power station that jumps, inflates tires, and charges devices in one box. And the DXAELJ18C is the middle answer: DEWALT’s pocket lithium pack, with more peak amps than the GB40 and no compressor to carry. For most drivers, the GB40 is the buy; for the garage, the DXAEJ14 is the buy — and whichever one you choose, keep it charged.

NOCO Boost GB40: 1000A UltraSafe Jump Starter on Amazon: 1000 peak amps, up to 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel, 2150 mAh, USB-C recharge, 100-lumen LED flashlight — confirm a live offer is showing before you order.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better, NOCO GB40 or DEWALT jump starters?

It depends on what you want the tool to do. The noco boost gb40 jump starter is better for the driver who wants a pocket-sized tool in the car at all times: 1000 peak amps, a power bank, and a 100-lumen flashlight in a glove-box unit. The DEWALT DXAEJ14 is better for the driver who wants a garage power station: 1600 peak amps, a 120 PSI compressor, and USB power in one box. The DEWALT DXAELJ18C sits between them: 1800 peak amps in a pocket lithium pack, with no compressor.

How many amps do I need to jump start a car?

For most family cars, 1000 peak amps is enough: the GB40 is rated for gasoline engines up to 6.0 litres and diesel engines up to 3.0 litres. Bigger engines, cold mornings, and fully flat batteries are where the extra amps help, and the DEWALT DXAEJ14 at 1600 peak amps and the DXAELJ18C at 1800 peak amps are both described as starting most 4, 6, and 8-cylinder cars and trucks. If your engine is a diesel larger than 3.0 litres, the GB40 is rated below it — check the engine-size rating before you buy any jump starter.

Do DEWALT jump starters need a separate battery?

No. The DEWALT DXAEJ14, DXAELJ18C, and DXAEPS14 are all self-contained: the DXAEJ14 has a sealed lead-acid battery built in, and the DXAELJ18C has a 3.7 Ah lithium-ion battery built in. No separate battery purchase is needed for any of them. That is the opposite of DEWALT’s tool-only tire inflator, the DCC020IB, where the battery is sold separately — a different DEWALT product, and a different buying trap.

Can the NOCO GB40 charge a phone?

Yes. The noco boost gb40 jump starter doubles as a portable power bank, with a 2.1-amp USB-A output for smartphones, tablets, and other devices. It recharges itself over USB-C in about 3 hours at a 2-amp charger per the listing. The DEWALT DXAEJ14 charges devices too, with 15W USB-A and 25W USB-C power, and the DXAELJ18C is a USB power bank as well.

What is the difference between the DXAEJ14 1400-amp and 1600-amp listings?

The model has been sold in more than one version. The older DXAEJ14 listing is rated at 1400 peak amps with 700 instant amps, while the current DXAEJ14 Type3 listing is rated at 1600 peak amps. The model number alone does not tell you which one you are buying, so check that the listing title says 1600 amps and Type3 before you order, and confirm the same figures on the box when it arrives. The ASIN in this article is the Type3 listing.

Will the NOCO GB40 start a diesel truck?

It depends on the diesel engine size. The GB40 is rated for diesel engines up to 3.0 litres, so a diesel truck with a larger engine is outside its rating — check the engine size before you buy. For a larger diesel, the DEWALT DXAEPS14 at 2000 peak amps is the bigger DEWALT in the family, covered in our DEWALT jump starter review. For a petrol engine up to 6.0 litres, the GB40 is inside its rating.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *